After a number of veteran and vintage car enthusiasts from Ipswich attended a Veteran Car Club of Australia [QLD] rally joining in the Centenary celebrations at the Fernvale State School, the idea of forming a local car club was initiated.

There were two preliminary meetings held in a shed belonging to Ron Griffiths at Raceview to establish expressions of interest. On Wednesday 22nd May 1974, 37 people attended and on Friday 7th June, 34 people attended. The third meeting as advertised in the Queensland Times newspaper was held at the Scouts Den in Cameron Park at Booval on the 11th July 1974 when 35 persons joined and the Ipswich Veteran and Vintage Vehicle Club was formed.

The initial Social and Events Committee comprised the following members:-
President: Mr. R. Fisher
Vice President: Mr. N. Spelleken
Secretary: Mrs Annette Grice
Treasurer: Mrs Myra Driver
Committee Members: J. Griffiths, P. Samson, G. Clayton, C. Hoffman and J. Tutin.

The Club’s first car rally was held on 8th September 1974 with members leaving Cameron Park at 9.00 am and travelling to Moogerah Dam for a picnic lunch.

The first copy of the club magazine “The Good Oil News” was produced in June 1975.


Rodger Fisher 1974-1975
Norm Spelleken 1975-1976 1976-1977 1977-1978
Ken Nicholls 1978-1979 1979-1980 1980-1981
Clarrie Hoffman 1981-1982
Jim Tutin 1982-1983
Noel Keidge 1983-1984 1984-1985
Norm Spelleken 1985-1986
Mick Black 1986-1987 1987-1988
Bill Smith 1988-1989 1989-1990
Mick Black 1990-1991 1991-1992 1992-1993
John McKnight 1993-1994 1994-1995
Mick Black 1995-1996 1996-1997
John McKnight 1997-1998 1998-1999
Alex Joss 1999-2000
John McKnight 2000-2001
Laurene Forster 2001-2002 2002-2003 2003-2004
John Forster 2004-2005 2005-2006 2006-2007
Brian Bowmer 2007
Chris Stephens 2007-2008 2008-2009
Frank Wilson 2009-2010
Clayton Wilson 2010-2011 2011-2012
Barry Blair 2013-2014 2014-2015
Maurie Currey 2015-2016 2016-2017
Rob Eggar 2017-2018 2018-2019